You are the declarer. Your left-hand opponent has lead a high trump honor.
Not too surprising since between your hand and the cards that hit the table, you own only the Ace and a small collection of bus transfers.
This embarrassing lack of quality can be diffused with a small shtick. You look at the lead thoughtfully and mutter, “Let's see... King from eleven...”
A knowledgeable opening leader will understand that you are attempting to apply the Rule of Eleven.Since the Rule of Eleven is so patently absurd in this context, most players with any sense of humor will either laugh right out loud or at least let loose a sniffing smile.
Last updated: June 25, 2012 07:45